Tuesday, January 22, 2008

DJ Jazzy Jeff

I figured since today is the 22nd of January that my next post should involve DJ Jazzy Jeff in some way. For those that don't know, the 22nd is Jeff's birthday -- he turned 43. I only know it because Jeff has been (and always will be) my favorite DJ ever since I was 10 years old, so I kind of studied the guy. With all that being said, I'm going to drop the entire DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince studio discography along with his two Hip Hop Forever releases. There are a few things that I should probably mention before I get started. On the "He's The DJ I'm The Rapper" LP, one of the best tracks on the album (Another Special Announcement) is missing despite being included on the vinyl and cassette versions (I have the cassette, but no vinyl).

Not only that, "Nightmare On My Street" is edited. On a totally seperate note, whatever happened to Ready Rock C? Dude was ill (beatboxing the Sanford & Son Theme underwater? fuckin' bananas...forget about it). Also, I don't have the bonus disc for Hip Hop Forever III so, obviously, I won't be including it. The bonus disc is just the songs used in the compilation, but they aren't mixed. So there's nothing to be missed unless you're just looking for some of the songs in particular. And, like with everything else I post, if there's no decent album art, I take pics of my own....so if anyone knows where I can get some decent He's The DJ, I'm The Rapper album art, hit me. That's pretty much everything that comes to mind so, um, on with the show then...

DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince

Rock The House {1987, Word Up Records - Jive/Zomba Recordings}

1. Girls Ain't Nothing But Trouble
(1988 Extended Remix)
2. Just One Of Those Days

3. Rock The House
4. Taking It To The Top
5. The Magnificent Jazzy Jeff

6. Just Rockin'
7. Guys Ain't Nothing But Trouble
feat. Ice Cream Tee
8. A Touch Of Jazz
9. Don't Even Try It
10. Special Announc

He's The DJ, I'm The Rapper {1988, Jive/Zomba Recordings}

1. Nightmare On My Street
2. Here We Go Again

3. Brand New Funk
4. Time To Chill

5. Charlie Mack (1st Out Of The Limo)
6. As We Go

7. Parents Just Don't Understand
8. Pump Up The Ba
9. Let's Get Busy Baby
10. Live At Union Square (November
11. D.J. On The Wheels
12. My Buddy

13. Rhythm Trax - House Party Style
14. He's The DJ, I'm The Rapper
15. Hip Hop Dancer's Theme

16. Jazzy's In The House
17. Human Vide
o Game

And In This Corner... {1989, Jive/Zomba Recordings}

1. Then She
Bit Me
2. I Think I Can Be
at Mike Tyson
3. Jazzy's Groove
4. Everything That Glitters (Ain't Always Gold)
5. You Got It (Donut)
6. The Girlie Had
A Mustache
7. The R
8. Who Stole My C
9. The Men Of Your Dreams
10. Numero Uno
11. Too Damn Hype
12. Jeff Waz On The Beat Box

Homebase {1991, Jive/Zomba Recordings}

1. I'm All
2. Summertime
3. The Things That U Do
4. The Boy Is Smooth
5. Ring My Bell
6. A Dog Is A Dog

7. Caught In The Middle
8. Trapped On The Dance Floor
9. Who Stole The D.J.
10. You Saw My B
11. Dumb Dancin'
12. Summertime (Reprise)

Code Red {1993 Jive/Zomba Recordings}

1. Somethin' Like
2. I'm Looking For The One (To Be With Me)
3. Boom! Shake The Room
4. Can't Wait To Be With You feat. Ch
ristopher Williams
5. Twinkle Twinkle (I'm Not A Star)
6. Code Red
7. Shadow Dreams
8. Just Kickin' It
9. Ain't No Place Like Home
10. I Wanna
11. Scream
12. Boom! Shake The Room (Street Re


DJ Jazzy Jeff

Hip Hop Forever II {2004, BBE Music / Rapster Records}

[Disc 1 - Mixed]

1. Ice Cream (Raekwon)
2. Danger (Blahzay Blahzay)
3. Bucktown (Smif N' Wessun)
4. How Many MC's (Black Moo
5. Mood Swing (Asheru)
6. Square One (InI)
7. Braggin' Writes (J-Live)
8. Interlude
9. Times Up (O.C.)
10. Made U Look (Nas)

11. Buck 'Em Down (Beatminerz Remix) (Black Moon)
12. M.I.A. (Missin' Linx)
13. This Is What They Meant (Pete Rock & Grand Agent)
14. Official (Jaylib)
15. Words I Manifest (Gang Starr)
16. You Can't Stop The Prophet (Pete Rock Remix) (Jeru Tha Damaja)
17. Electric Relaxation (A Tribe Called Quest)
18. Flawless (Phife Dawg)

19. Party Up (Wildchild feat. Vinia Mojica)
20. Watch Out Now (The Beatnuts)
21. Drop (The Pharcyde)
22. How I Could Just Kill A Man (Cypress Hill)
23. Live At The BBQ (Main Source)

[Disc 2 - Unmixed]

1. Ice Cream
2. Danger
3. Bucktown
4. How Many MC's
5. Mood Swing
6. Times Up

7. Made U Look
8. Buck 'Em Down
9. M.I.A.
10. This Is What They Meant
11. The Official
12. Words I Manifest
13. You Can't Stop The Prophet (not the remix though...I know, it's some shullbit)
14. Electric Relaxation
15. Watch Out Now

16. How I Could Just Kill A Man
Live At The BBQ
17. 3ree6ix5ive (Old World Order feat. Eminem -- left off the mixed version for some reason)

Hip Hop Forever III {2006, BBE Music / Rapster Records}

1. Tear Shit Up feat. Biz Markie
2. Passin' Me By (The Pharcyde)
3. Whatever You Say (Little Brother)
4. Ijustwannachill (Large Professor)
5. Top Ten List (Masta Ace Incorporated)
6. Visualize (Mr. Complex)
7. Speed (Little Brother)
8. Ebonics (Big L)
9. Play Dis (Clean) (Saukrates feat. Common)
10. Players (Slum Village)
11. Runnin' (The Pharcyde)
12. Fuck The Police (Jay Dee)
13. Eric B. Is President (Eric B. & Rakim)
14. Droppin' Science (Marley Marl feat. Craig G.)
15. The ? Remainz (Gang Starr)
16. Mass Appeal (Gang Starr)
17. Full Clip (Gang Starr)
18. Boom (Royce Da 5'9")
19. Award Tour (A Tribe Called Quest)
20. Don't Nobody Care About Us (Phat Kat)
21. Quiet Storm (Mobb Deep)
22. Who Got The Props (Black Moon)
23. Let's Get Dirty (I Can't Get In The Club) (Redman feat. DJ Kool)
24. The Choice Is Yours (Revisited) (Black Sheep)
25. Looking At The Front Door (Main Source)
26. Them That's Not (J-Live)


  1. You are the main reason I love Jazzy Jeff so much, Norf! Since you turned me on to his solo stuff, I revisited these old albums...heavily. They made some of my absolute favorite golden age rap material. Dope stuff.

  2. Nice post. Lots to be proud of here. And happy birthday Jeff!