Sunday, September 20, 2009


Rap Life is an album that boasts a pretty diverse lineup and some really solid production. J-Swift handles about 40% while (then) no names like Minnesota, Rockwilder, Fred Wreck, Sir Jinx and one or two others fill out the rest of the production lineup. The sound jumps back and forth between western funk and eastern thump. The guest lineup is equally diverse with names like Outkast, Raekwon, Kurupt, Carl Thomas and Ice T showing up to give an assist along with the expected names like J-Ro, E-Swift, and Xzibit. The end result is a solid album that showcases Tash at peak form. It's funny, it's lyrical, and it's evident that Tash put a lot of thought into this album. You'll enjoy this one...

Also included is a bonus disc that came with it called Tape Proprietors. It's basically a showcase of the talent on the
(now defunct) Loud Records roster. Names like Inspectah Deck, Raekwon, Project Pat, Mobb Deep, dead prez, IGT (who?), Tear The Club Thugs, Big Pun, Beatnuts, and one or two others. You probably have the songs on the disc already, but I threw it in there anyway. Enjoy.

Rap Life [Loud / Columbia Records 1999]

1. Ricochet
2. Cops Skit
3. G's Iz G's feat. Kurupt
4. Pimpin' Ain't Easy
5. Rap Life feat. Raekwon
6. The Game feat. Carl Thomas
7. Game Show Skit
8. Only When I'm Drunker feat. E-Swift, J-Ro & Phillip Johnson
9. Goggles Skit
10. Nightfall
11. Bill Clinton Skit
12. Smokefest 1999 feat. Phil Da Agony, Big Boi & Dre (Outkast) & B-Real
13. Fallin' On
14. Tash Rules feat. LV
15. Ice T Skit feat. Ice T
16. True Homies feat. Phil Da Agony & Xzibit
17. Blackula feat. Tha Alkaholiks
18. Bermuda Triangle

No comments:

Post a Comment