Saturday, May 9, 2009

Slick Rick

The sophomore set set from Rick plays more like The Great Adventures Part 2. I don't mean that in a bad way, but you can sort of tell that he didn't deviate very far from the original script, if you will. While just as dope, Rick failed to yield any timeless singles this time around. To his credit, the album was rushed because of a jail sentence was hanging over his head. I'm under the impression that he would've put out a stronger product if he had the time to do so. That said, it still went gold, but it failed to reach the bar that he set so astronomically high with his debut...

The Ruler's Back [Def Jam 1991]

1. King
2. I Shouldn't Have Done It
3. Bond
4. Moses
5. Tonto
6. Mistakes of A Woman In Love With Other Men
7. Venus
8. Ship
9. It's A Boy
10. Top Cat
11. Runaway
12. Slick Rick - The Ruler

No comments:

Post a Comment