Friday, August 15, 2008

The Pharcyde

Back in 1992, Dr. Dre was crafting a sound that would later come to define the mainstream West Coast sound. Death Row would begin it's legendary run and gangster rap would enjoy a affluence that it may never ever get to see again. Not even a month before Dre's seminal LP hit stores, there was a foursome from California that dropped one of the dopest albums to come out of the left coast. Problem is, despite some wildly successful singles, no one paid them any attention. Part of that was due to them not sounding anything like your average west coast rap act -- I mean, they toured with De La Soul and A Tribe Called Quest if that tells you anything -- and people in general weren't usually open to any deviation from the norm back in '92. Anyway, the album is a classic IMO and features flawless production from J-Swift (his story is a sad one and a topic all its own...) as well as energetic and playful rhymes that were most certainly on point. The group would pretty much collapse after their slept on sophomore release due to drug use (Fatlip & J-Swift) and solo aspirations (SlimKid). Let's hope that the reappearance of them as a foursome leads to some sort of new material.

Bizarre Ride II The Pharcyde [Delicious Vinyl 1992]

1.4 Better Or 4 Worse (Interlude)
2. Oh Shit
3. It's Jiggaboo Time
4. 4. Better Or 4 Worse
5. I'm That Type Of Nigga
6. If I Were President
7. Soul Flower (Remix)
8. On The DL
9. Pack The Pipe (Interlude)
10. Officer
11. Ya Mama
12. Passing Me By
13. Otha Fish
14. Quinton's On The Way
15. Pack The Pipe
16. Return Of The B-Boy

No comments:

Post a Comment