Wednesday, May 7, 2008

Mad Skillz

Mad Skillz dropped this album to almost no acclaim back in '96. He has since dropped "Mad" from his moniker and dropped a second lukewarm album in 2005 (Confessions Of A Ghostwriter), but this album right here is a gem. It was a big deal for me because Skillz was the first rapper I'd ever heard claim Virginia and rap music here in the DC, MD, VA area was pretty much nonexistant on a mainstream level. Getting this album was a must for me. -- it showed me that local acts could get signed to major labels (a big deal at the time). From the lyrics to the beats, there's nothing weak to be said about this album. The production is handled by the likes of Large Professor, The Beatnuts, Buckwild, Clark Kent, Shawn J. Period, and some young cat callin' himself Jay Dee (*wink wink*). Guest appearances are kept to a minimum -- Q Tip, Large Professor, and some of Skillz' SupaFriendz collective all show up. The album was all but ignored when it dropped despite two lukewarm singles -- The Nod Factor and Move Ya Body -- but anyone that paid attention when it came out was in for a real treat once they got it. I even cut school to go pick it up when it came out. lol Enjoy everyone...

From Where??? [Big Beat / Atlantic Records 1996]

1. From Where??? (Intro)
2. It's Goin' Down
3. The Nod Factor
4. VA In The House
5. Tongues Of The Next Shit feat. Kalonji the Immortal
6. Doin' Time In The Cypha
7. Tip Of The Tongue
8. Extra Abstract Skillz feat. Q-Tip & Large Professor
9. WMAD (Interlude)
10. Get Your Groove On feat. Khim Davis
11. The Jam
12. Move Ya Body
13. Street Rules
14. All In It
15. Unseen World feat. Dr. Mindbenda, Javon the Medieval, Kalonji the Immortal, Lil' Roc & Lonnie B.
16. Inherit The World

No comments:

Post a Comment